The album that hasn’t been torn. Victoria Dini Photography

The album that hasn’t been torn

I never wanted a baby, but when I was thirty-six, I became a mum. A fifteen-year-old teenage girl. I met her by chance, working as a social worker, and I realised there was no choice — I had to pick her up and raise her, because I could see that she was mine. 

She really was mine. In some ways she was very much like me, she also had the artistic personality, and we even share the same orientation — although I only understood and accepted mine gomosexuality after daughter’s coming out, trying to accept her. The stereotype of “homosexual parents have homosexual children” was confirmed in our family, only in reverse.

I became her fourth adoptive mother. One of her previous foster mothers had once, in a fit of rage, torn up her childhood photo album with the photos from when she was still in the orphanage. Years later my letters to the orphanage requesting copies were refused. 

During my “maternity leave” I could only take pictures of my daughter (I had no energy for the rest) — and I did it as if it were an alternative album. 

When the children finally find themselves in a safe relationship, it’s as if they defrost and go through the stages of childhood all over again. All the unaccomplished bits and pieces. And all the trauma, of course. That’s why we had in a family a teenage girl and a junior high school girl, and even a baby at the same time, and they were all my 15, 16, 17-year-old kid.

I taught at the same time the rules of safe sex and how to distinguish between vowels and consonants, how to make tea and how to distinguish between feeling hungry and feeling cold, and feelings in general. How to understand your emotions, how to count, how to calm down, what the rules of safe sex are, how to buy food, hygiene and going to the doctor… And a lot of the consequences of trauma, and the ingrained belief “I can’t do anything and it’s not worth trying”, and so on and on and on…

One day at 18, my daughter — her name is Cassia — wrote: “I probably won’t stop pinched in the chest when I look at my childhood photos. I can’t help feeling like my peaceful childhood has been cheekily stolen by someone. I know that a smile in the photo will be followed by a harsh scolding for some prank. I never stop swearing to myself that my children will have the best memories of those years.I have learned to pick myself up… and rock… and pity. I have lived all my years with my mum anew. In short form. I’m learning to forgive. But it’s bloody hard to do. And I can’t stop shrinking, recognising in my gaze the longing found in every system child”. 

Sadly, there is no happy ending to this story. At her twenty-one daughter has cut contact with me. It was common to her before, to idealise people, then to flip them into the black; now it’s me in the black for her. 

I taught her to see, to think for herself, to be creative, to take care of herself and others. She lives now in a threesome in a one-bedroom with people who give her orders, calls her peer “mother” and seems happy about it. Can we change something, or should we accept and consider a person’s need to obey if one grew up in an orphanage system where one were bossed around from birth? Is it possible to outgrow attachment to a group? Can anyone give up the concept of blaming everyone and the approach in which the world owes you? 

Maybe it takes much more time to have a good childhood. Maybe it takes a personal desire to grow through one’s own traumas.

Now I don’t understand if any of this was necessary and whether it made any difference in her life. What I do know is that I couldn’t have done it any other way. And I did my best. And my motherhood was, and still is, exactly like that. 


2015—2019 

Projects and books

Альбом, который не разорвали. Виктория Дини. Проявляю жизнь

Альбом, который не разорвали

Я никогда не хотела ребенка, но когда мне было тридцать шесть, я стала мамой. Пятнадцатилетней девочки-подростка. Я встретила ее случайно, работая социальным работником, и поняла, что баммм, выбора нет — придется забирать и растить, ведь я вижу, что она моя.

Она действительно была моя. В чем-то очень похожа на меня, тоже artist-породы, и даже ориентация у нас одна на двоих — хотя я поняла и приняла свою собственную только после стараний принять дочь. Стереотип «у гомосексуальных родителей гомосексуальные дети» в нашей семье подтвердился, только наоборот.

Я стала ее четвертой приемной мамой. Одна из предыдущих приемных матерей как-то в припадке ярости разорвала ее детский альбом с фотографиями, переданными еще из детского дома. Спустя много лет на письма в детский дом с просьбой о копиях мне отказали.

В годы своего «декрета» я могла снимать только дочь (на остальное не было сил) — и делала это как если бы это был альтернативный альбом.

Нам совсем не было просто. Когда дети наконец оказываются в безопасных отношениях, то как будто размораживаются и проходят стадии детства заново. Все непройденные куски. Поэтому у нас дома одновременно жила девушка-подросток и малышка-младшешкольница, и даже совсем дите, и все они были моей 15, 16, 17летней деткой.

Я учила одновременно правилам безопасного секса и как различать гласные и согласные, как заваривать чай и как различить чувство голода и чувство холода, да и вообще чувства. Как понимать свои эмоции, как считать, как успокаиваться, что такое правила безопасного секса, как покупать продукты, гигиена и походы к врачу… А еще куча последствий травм, а еще впитанное убеждение «я ничего не смогу и не стоит и пытаться», еще, а еще, а еще…

Однажды в свои 18 дочь — ее зовут Кассия — написала: 

«Мне наверное не перестанет щемить в груди, когда я смотрю на свои детские фотографии. Меня не покидает ощущение, что мое спокойное детство кто-то нахально украл. Я знаю, что за улыбкой на фото последует жесткая взбучка за какую-то шалость. Я не перестаю клясться себе в том, что мои дети будут иметь лучшие воспоминания об этих годах. Я научилась брать себя на руки… и качать… и жалеть. Я прожила все свои года с мамой по новой. В краткой форме. Я учусь прощать. Но это чертовски все трудно даётся. И я не перестаю сжиматься, узнавая в своем взгляде тоску, встречающуюся у каждого системного ребенка».

К сожалению, счастливого финала у этой истории нет, в свои двадцать один дочь со мной общение порвала. Это было обычным раньше, то идеализировать людей, то перекидывать их в черное; теперь для нее в черном я.

Я учила видеть, думать самой, быть творцом, заботиться о себе и о других. Она живет втроем в однушке с людьми, которые отдают ей приказы, зовет мамой свою ровесницу и кажется, счастлива этим.

Можем ли мы что-то поменять, или надо принимать и учитывать потребность человека подчиняться, если вырос в системе детского дома, где тобой командовали с рождения? Можно ли перерасти привязанность к группе? Можно ли отказаться от концепции обвинения всех и подхода, в котором мир тебе задолжал?

Может, для хорошего детства надо куда больше времени. Может, куда больше личного желания самого человека расти сквозь свои травмы.

Сейчас я не понимаю, зачем все это было нужно и дало ли что-то. Знаю точно, что по-другому я не могла. И мое материнство было и остается именно таким. 


2015—2019 

Проекты и книги